Author, Books, Editing, Free, Kindle, Literary, Promo, Self Publish, Writing

Guest Interview – Rebecca Ayers

SPotlight

Hello, all! I recently had the pleasure of being featured in my dear friend, Kate Porter’s, newsletter. Check out my interview below and be sure to reach out to Kate via her website if you’d like to be featured as well!

Guest Interview:

Rebecca Ayers of Ayers Editing Services has been not only a fantastic friend to me but she has been my editor for the past six years. Rebecca has not only helped me hone my work to its sharpest edge, but has made it possible for me to take my writing career to the next level. This is one of the main reasons I asked my friend to be my first GUEST INTERVIEW!

Q: What type of book is your specialty?
A: I specialize in editing fiction and short stories. Growing up, I was a voracious reader and that love of storytelling guides my steps today. I get a thrill every time I get to read a new book and help my writers refine their stories. My personal library consists mostly of fantasy and paranormal reads, so I get extra excited whenever I am asked to edit books within those genres. Currently, I’m stepping a bit outside of my comfort zone by editing two non-fiction projects, as well as one illustrated book for children.
Q: How do you edit?
That is a bit of a tricky question, because every writer is different. Typically, I prefer to edit a digital manuscript in Microsoft Word using the comments or track changes features. That way, the author can easily make the changes inside of the shared document or view the original document and the edited version side by side via split screen. However, some authors prefer to receive edits in a more traditional fashion and I will hand write my notes on a printed manuscript. I have also been asked on the rare occasion to meet with an author and edit face-to-face in real time.
Q: If you could visit any place in the world or a place created by a book, where would you visit?
A: Tolkien’s Middle Earth, without a doubt. I read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings in middle school, and then again in college. Tolkien’s writing style is both lyrical and immersive, perfectly suited for carrying his readers into worlds they want to visit over and over again. I would love to share a meal with hobbits in The Shire!
Q: Anything else you would like to add?
For anyone out there who is considering writing their first novel, I encourage you to take the plunge! It sounds cliché, I know, but I truly believe that every single person has at least one great story to tell. Believe in yourself and hone your writing skills so that your story can be shared with the world. Make every day a learning experience and be open to inspiration in all its forms.
Q: How can we stay in touch?
A: Authors and fellow book lovers can connect with me online either at my website or on Instagram

Thank you so much for sharing with us, Rebecca. On a personal note, I can’t wait until we get together again for one of our lunchtime brainstorming sessions! I miss those!

And to our readers, please make sure you check out Rebecca’s website!

Before we say goodbye:

To join our mailing list you can submit here. to see who my next GUEST INTERVIEW will be. If you would like to be a guest, go to my website and send me a message. Include your e-mail address.

Leave a comment